MQFF is proud to recognise local and international filmmaking talent thanks to our incredibly generous award sponsors and private donors. The 2018 award short film winners will be announced on Sunday 25 March with the MQFF and Audience Choice awards announced after the conclusion of the Festival.

2017 Award Winners

MQFF Australian Short Film Awards

City of Melbourne Award for the Best Australian Short Film – $3000: Goran Stolevski – You Deserve Everything.

(Recipients of the City of Melbourne Award for Best Australian Short Film are automatically qualified to be nominated for The Iris Prize – the largest prize for a gay or lesbian short film in the world.)

Film Victoria Award for Best Director, Australian Short Film – $1000: Jamieson Pearce – Adult.

Shaun Miller Lawyers Award for Emerging Australian Filmmaker – $500: Brendon McDonall – The Dam

MQFF Awards

MQFF Life Members Award for Best Feature (Australian or International) – $2,500: Ingrid Jungermann – Women Who Kill

David McCarthy Award for Best Documentary (Australian or International) – $2,500: Deborah S. Esquenazi – Southwest of Salem: The Story of the San Antonio Four

Audience Choice Award

Step Right Up Audience Choice Award for Best Short Film – $500: Brendon McDonnal – **Spoilers**

twenty21 Audience Choice Award for Best Feature, Narrative or Documentary – $1000: Darren Thornton – A Date For Mad Mary


Download PDF