Film Submissions

Thank you for your interest in the 2019 Melbourne Queer Film Festival. Submissions for the 2019 Festival will open on 13 August and will close on 7 December 2018.

Each year MQFF screens more than 120 features, shorts and documentaries from Australia and around the world, and presents numerous panels, filmmaker workshops and special events. With a record breaking audience of 23,000 in 2018, MQFF is a highlight of Melbourne’s busy arts and cultural calendar. In 2019, MQFF will screen at venues in the Melbourne CBD and surrounds.

MQFF proudly accepts entries via, the world’s best online submission platform. FilmFreeway offers free HD online screeners, unlimited video storage, digital press kits, and more.

Films submitted for MQFF 2019 should be of interest to the LGBTIQ community (gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, intersex, questioning/queer).

Submission is free for Australian entrants only. Australian entrants please email for waiver code.

MQFF recognises local and international filmmaking talent through our Awards Program which includes prizes for Best Australian Short Film, Best First Feature and Best Documentary. To see a full list of the 2018 winners, visit our Awards page.

2018 Award Winners

MQFF Australian Short Film Awards

City of Melbourne Award for the Best Australian Short Film – $3000

(Recipients of the City of Melbourne Award for Best Australian Short Film are automatically qualified to be nominated for The Iris Prize – the largest prize for a gay or lesbian short film in the world.)

Film Victoria Award for Best Director, Australian Short Film – $1000

Shaun Miller Lawyers Award for Emerging Australian Filmmaker – $500

Blackmagic Design Award for Best Cinematography (a URSA Mini 4K EF Digital Camera valued at $4155)


MQFF Awards

Matthew Lee Award for Best First Feature Narrative – $2500

David McCarthy Award for Best Documentary (Australian or International) – $2500


Audience Choice Awards

Step Right Up Audience Choice Award for Best Short Film – $500

Audience Choice Award for Best Feature, Narrative or Documentary – $1000

Download the 2019 Program Guide

Download the 2019 Program Guide