MQFF31 - 18-29 NOV


MQFF 2020 Award Winners

MQFF is proud to support local emerging filmmaking talent through innovative workshops, exclusive industry labs for selected filmmakers and festival prizes. The support for local and international filmmaking talent is made possible by our award sponsors and donors.

MQFF Australian Short Film Awards

City of Melbourne Award for the Best Australian Short Film – $5000

(Recipients of the City of Melbourne Award for Best Australian Short Film are automatically qualified to be nominated for The Iris Prize – the largest prize for a gay or lesbian short film in the world.)

Black Lips – Director: Adrian Chiarella

Film Victoria Award for Best Director, Australian Short Film – $2500

Hook Up – Director: Laura Nagy

ME Bank Award – Emerging Filmmaker – $2500

Kids on Fire – Director: Tommy Hart



The Pride Foundation Australia Award for Best Australian Feature Film – $1000

Unsound – Director: Ian Watson

Shaun Miller Lawyers Award for Best Australian Documentary – Feature or Short – $1000

Belonging – Director: Matt Scholten


Pitch, Pleez!

In 2020, MQFF was delighted to debut the world premiere of last years Pitch, Pleez winner Hook Up, directed by Laura Nagy.

The film went on to win the Film Victoria award for Best Director.

This year we were thrilled to award two projects the Pitch, Pleez! $10,000 film funding prize. The winners were;

A Big Life – Ana Brownfield 

$10,000 plus Legal fees from Shaun Miller Lawyers valued at $2000

How to be Queer – Clare Cavanagh & Alexandra Morgan

$10,000 plus a Blackmagic Design Pocket Cinema Camera 6K with DaVinci resolve studio software valued at $2600

Stay Updated

Join our Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter now and stay in the loop with announcements and access.